The Ghost of Christmas Past — Poem from South Africa

Making All Things Well

Making All Things Well

This wonderful new poem of Isobel DeGruchy from South Africa has touched me deeply.

I am the Ghost of Christmas Past

“I am the Ghost of Christmas Past;
I will stand at your side,
here in Christmas present ,
and I will whisper, – remember,
remember how it was –
the family was all together then,
all here, all together,
alive to the spirit of Christmas Present,
then – but Christmas Present now?
I am the Ghost of Christmas Past;
and I will keep on whispering,
remember.”

I will hear the voice of the Ghost of Christmas Past;
I will remember – its joy and its sorrow,
but I cannot live there:
so I will turn to him and say;
“Be gone now.
I have heard you,
I want to embrace Christmas Present, –
I want to be fully part of it:
it will bring its own joy,
it may even bring more joy
than you, the Ghost of Christmas Past;
can bring to mind.”

“I am the Ghost of Christmas Past;
And I will keep on whispering”, he said.

“And I will ignore you.” I replied,
as I turned my face away –
towards the present.

Isobel’s new book (published November, 2012 by Canterbury Press) is Making All Things Well Finding Spiritual Strength with Julian of Norwich by Isobel DeGruchy. Archbishop Desmond Tutu has written the foreword. Internationally the best way to get a copy is through Amazon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

