A Prayer for Play … and Improv on Take Me Out to the Ball Game

I have been with the New England Association of United Church Educators at their annual meeting on Cape Cod. I love Christian educators. It is what I want to be when I grow down … and find the roots of me.

A Prayer for Play

God, let me never be too old to fly a kite,
looking into the sky, trusting the wind.

Let me not be too grand,
or grounded in responsibility
to swing high from an oak tree branch,
or build a castle in the sand
that waves will wash away.

How little like a job or housekeeping
is the flash of jacks,
the sharing of the red rubber ball
with a good, good friend,
or the skip-litany hip hop
of urban-alley jump rope,

how sweet and chancel
the prayer circle of sidewalk chalk,
fire hydrant’s splash,

and the holy Twister that is your church!

Amen

And while I am being silly — here’s a grace I wrote last year for a dear friend’s retirement party!!!!

Spring Grace – Pastor’s Retirement party
Improv on “Take Me Out to the Ballgame”  (Norworth, Von Tilzer,1908)

Bring us in – let our hearts flame.
Pitch us smiles, walk us home.

Grace church suppers and sacraments,
quiet Sundays and big life events!

Now it’s faith, hope, love for the world’s dream –
if we can’t share, it’s a shame.

May this meal!  church!  pastor!  be blessed…
In our God’s bright name!

Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Prayer for Play … and Improv on Take Me Out to the Ball Game

  1. Darla Turlington says:

    I love the reflections on play – invites us to a place we seldom allow ourselves.

  2. Rosalie Sugrue says:

    I love the evocative images and the pictures they create. Felt inspired to sit down and write a poem of my own, when my intention had been to close my PC and go to bed!

  3. Maren says:

    It’s a wonderful poem. I will post it.

Leave a Reply

