Liturgy for Sunday September 29, 2013

On Mondays I share liturgical writing focused on the Luke passages for each Sunday in the Revised Common Lectionary. This week’s scripture is Luke 16: 19-31, the contrast of a very rich person and a very poor person, in life and in death. The first contributor is Marge Dahle of East Alton, New Hampshire, who offers a poetic response to the text. Lucy Brady of Westminster, Maryland sends an interactive telling of the scripture.

Gift of Marge Dahle

What can be said of the rich man’s splendor
Draped in purple and selfish ways?
Habitual pleasure, ‘surely, folly!
When the poor beg crumbs and, are sent away.
Arrogant, prideful man of wealth
You had no thought but, for yourself
Foolish one your fate now sealed
For the deeds you’ve done, have been revealed
The poor and needy of your day
Were much ignored or sent away.
You failed to notice or even care.
For the sick and hungry who were there.
Oh, wicked man who could not see.
The flames of hell are your destiny.
Not so! for Lazarus  who is safe above
His full reward Eternal Love
From fiery flames we hear rich man’s cry
Make amends before you die.

Gift of Lucy Brady

An interactive telling of the Luke 16:19-31. I am a biblical storyteller and I have done this type of gospel telling. Lucy

PREPARE THE CONGREGATION
Leader:
There are several responses to this story.
When I raise my arms into the air, I want you to do the same and say, “Thanks be to God!” Try it. Let’s try it. (raise arms in the air)
All: (raise their arms in the air)
THANKS BE TO GOD!

Leader:
When I stretch my arms out in front of me as if I am going to receive a big gift, I want you all to do the same and say, “Yes, Lord!” Try it. (Stretch arms out )
All: (stretch arms out in front) 

Leader:
Good!  When I raise my right arm into the air I want you to do the same and say, “Have mercy!” Let’s try it. (raise right arm into the air.)
All:  (right hand in the air)
HAVE MERCY!

Leader: (if there is no choir, call for volunteers to come forward and form a choir)
Finally, when I point to the choir they will sing “Rock My Soul in the Bosom of Abraham.” They will sing the chorus the first time and the verse the second time. (point to choir)

Choir:
Rock-a my soul in the bosom of Abraham.  Rock-a  my soul in the bosom of Abraham.  Rock-a my soul in the bosom of Abraham.  Oh, rock-a my soul

Leader: (point to choir)
Now the verse.
Choir:
So high, you can’t get over it. So low, you can’t get under it. So wide, you can’t get around it. You gotta go in at the door.

Leader:
Good, Let’s tell the story.

SILENCE
Leader: This is the gospel of Jesus the Christ according to Luke (raise arms in air)
All: (raise arms in air) THANKS BE TO GOD!

Leader:
There was a rich man who dressed in purple and fine linen and feasted sumptuously every day. (extend arms in front.)
All: (extend arms)
YES LORD!!!

Leader:
And at his gate lay a poor man named Lazarus, covered with sores, who longed to satisfy his hunger with what fell from the rich man’s table; even the dogs would come and lick his sores. (raise right arm into the air.)
All: (extend arms in to air)
HAVE MERCY!

Leader:
The poor man died and was carried away by angels to be with Abraham. (point to choir)

Choir:
Rock-a my soul in the bosom of Abraham.
Rock-a my soul in the bosom of Abraham.
Rock-a my soul in the bosom of Abraham,

Oh, rock-a my soul.

Leader: (extend arms in front)
All: (extend arms)
“YES LORD!”

Leader:
The rich man also died and was buried.  In Hades where he was being tormented, he looked up and saw Abraham with Lazarus by his side. (Raise right arm into the air)
All: (Raise right arm)
“HAVE MERCY!”

Leader:
He called out, “Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus to dip the tip of his finger in water to cool my tongue, for I am in agony in these flames.” (point to choir)

Choir:
So high you can’t get over it, So low you can’t get under it.

So wide you can’t go around it, you gotta go in at the door.

Leader:
But Abraham said, “Child, remember that during your lifetime, you received your good things. Lazarus in like manner, evil things; but now he is comforted here, and you are in agony.  Besides, between you and us a great chasm has been fixed, so that those who might go from here to you cannot do so, and no one can pass from there to us. (raise right arm in air)
All: (raise right arm in air)
HAVE MERCY!

Leader: He said, “Then Father, I beg you to send him to my father’s house for I have five brothers that he may warn them so that they will not also come into this place of torment.” Pause
(raise right arm in air)
All: (raise right arm in air)
HAVE MERCY!

Leader:
Abraham replied, “They have Moses and the prophets they should listen to them.” (raise right arm in air)
All: (raise right arm in air)
HAVE MERCY!

Leader:
He said, “No, father Abraham, but if someone goes to them from the dead, they will repent.” (raise right arm in air)
All: (raise right arm in air)
HAVE MERCY!

Leader: He said to him, “If they do not listen to Moses and the prophets, neither will they be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.”

SILENCE.

Leader: (raise right arm in air)
All: (raise right arm in air)
HAVE MERCY!

SILENCE

Leader:
The gospel of Jesus the Christ. (raise both arms in air)
All: (raise both arms in air)
THANKS BE TO GOD!

All of these resources were given freely and they may be used in worship contexts. They may be adapted to fit your context. Please cite the original author when you reprint them or share them orally. For any other use please contact me so that I can put you directly in touch with that particular author.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Liturgy for Sunday September 29, 2013

  1. Rosalie says:

    Thanks Lucy, I used your gift this morning with a little elderly congregation. They enjoyed participating – they aren’t into hands in the air (restricted by temperament and arthritis) so we used hands in prayer position and clasped instead.

    • Lucy Brady says:

      Rosalie, Sorry about the late reply, but I want to thank you for adapting the responses to fit your group. It is my hope that the stories take on new life depending on who is telling! Hands in prayer position opened the gospel for me in a new way too. Blessings, Lucy+

      • Rosalie Sugrue says:

        Being able to share and adapt each others material is a wonderful on-going gift – one that enables isolated creative souls to merge and blossom like flowers that never stop growing new and different petals, Thank you for opening a new layer. Namaste, Rosalie

      • Maren says:

        I will pass this on! Maren

Leave a Reply

