Thanksgiving for … other things

For my Canadian neighbors’ Thanksgiving and recalling all the times I’ve been in the leperjority, not going back, certainly not going back with thanks.

Thanksgiving …

For those other things …
for troubles
that shape and sharpen my patience,
for doubts
that let faith moments shine,
for confusions
that keep my life from being rigid,
for sufferings
that help me share another’s grief,
for fears
that mark real terror in the world,
for pains
that open my eyes to joy,
for sorrows
that open my hands to hope,
for cross-paths
that morning break the tombs,
for lonelinesses
that lead me to the heart of God.

For all these gifts
by which I have become more human,
I give thanks,

and let my thanks
reach out and embrace
the daily small ingratitudes
of my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving for … other things

  1. Wise words about the nature of blessing – the anointing oil is in everything.

Leave a Reply

