Gras

Since Christmas I’ve had
a lot of gras weeks.
I consume and consume and end up hungry,
even if I’ve packed it on my thighs
and my calendar.
When I eat up my
pancakes and bacon tonight,
it’s more than a Tuesday
celebration.

It’s the end, I hope,
of a carnival of running away
of eating, talking, working, playing,
worrying too much —
all those … gras things,
that keep me from the essential,
from the scant, spare
lentiness
that can name in my life
what is lasting …
and what is ash.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gras

  1. rezrevres says:

    Many of us have great difficulty in distinguishing for ourselves “what is lasting …and what is ash.”. Well done Maren.

  2. Maren says:

    Thank you. Since my particular sin has a lot to do with piling, piling, piling on the things-to-do … ash … burnt out …

  3. Rev. Jane MacIntyre says:

    Brilliant!

  4. Nancy Rockwell says:

    Brilliantly well done, especially the last lines. And in the mystery of God, asceticism too can be the thing that is ash, and needs to be halted for a while. Moods can. What is lasting is the more ephemeral, as well as eternal, thing.

    • Maren says:

      I have never thought of asceticism as too much … perhaps because head to hedonism … ah, the lattes, the sundaes, the memory of scotch, long since forsaken.

  5. David Yoder says:

    Thank you Maren. I needed that today. Sitting here, wolfing down another fasnacht and wondering – what’s next. I needed the reminder to let go.

Leave a Reply

