A prayer to begin the day from Argentina

From Gerardo Oberman with thanks to Katie Feigenbaum’s translation. Good morning!

Good God of the dawn,
of the sun always waking your creation,
bathing it in light and shaking off its drowsiness.
Thank you for reinvigorating rest,
thank you for the opportunity for renewal
the body needs as much as the soul.
Like the singing birds,
may my words and my actions
praise your name this day.
Like the flowers that open up
and gift us, gracefully, with their scent,
may my whole life be offered generously
in encounters with others,
on my walk in the paths of life.
Like the hands and arms,
voices and glances,
feet and thoughts
of so many women and men
who go out to their work,
may my talents, those you gave me,
be offered in service to your Realm
in this simple place your love has put me.
Praise to you, early-rising God,
for the miracle of this new day.
(Gerardo Oberman)

Oración para comenzar el día

Buen Dios de los amaneceres,
del sol que siempre despierta a tu creación
y la baña de luz y le sacude su modorra.
Gracias por el descanso reparador,
gracias por la oportunidad del renuevo
que tanto el cuerpo como el alma necesitan.
Que al igual que los pájaros que trinan,
puedan mis palabras y mis acciones
alabar tu nombre en este día.
Que al igual que las flores que se abren
y regalan, de gracia, su perfume,
mi vida toda pueda ofrecerse, generosa,
en el encuentro con otras y con otros,
en este andar los caminos del vivir.
Que al igual que las manos y los brazos,
las voces y los miradas,
los pies y los pensamientos
de tantas mujeres y hombres que salen a sus trabajos,
mis dones, aquellos que me diste,
puedan ser puestos al servicio de tu Reino
en el lugar donde tu amor me ha colocado.
Alabado seas, Dios mañanero,
por el milagro de este nuevo día.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A prayer to begin the day from Argentina

  1. Nicolette Wellington says:

    Thank you, Maren and please pass the thanks for this lovely poem.

    Nicolette Wellington

  2. Maren says:

    I will do so. Thanks, Nicolette.

Leave a Reply

