In the blizzard

I can see God’s light
on the other side of the blizzard
and that is enough.

I can see God’s light
with the eyes of my heart,
on the hands of my neighbor’s shovel,
in my mind a teacher taught,
under hair my mother braided,
and a wool…ish hat
woven by an Indonesian child,
sold by a weary Target clerk,
given by a kind friend
who travels roads
made clear by a snow plow driver
and safe by a state trooper.

I can see God’s light
on the other side of the blizzard
and that is enough.

Ontario snow

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the blizzard

  1. Betsy says:

    Just awesome, Maren…there is always hope.

  2. Maren says:

    After just shoveling 25 inches of snow I’m definitely for the hope. But, ah, there have been whole life experiences that were full of snow and hurricane force wind.

  3. Thanks for this. I add, in the small birds who flock to the feeder I have shoveled out four times in two days . . .

Leave a Reply

