Mosquito prayer

Patti Rodgers from Canada writes, I’m spending a few days at our cottage in Muskoka, Ontario, which is thick with mosquitos and black flies this time of year. I was inspired to write this reflection…”

Gorged on blood,
a mosquito drunkenly wobbles past my line of sight
and I realize that in a moment or two, somewhere on my body,
a reddened. itchy welt will appear.
It will keep me up at night.
I ask God in a petulant prayer:
“What were you thinking when you created such a nuisance?”
And contemplate the horrifying reply:
“It’s not about you.
“It’s about bats and dragon flies, and birds, fish and frogs.
So suck it up, beloved creation of mine.
Your minor and temporary inconvenience is life to many.
Your blood is exactly where it ought to be.”

A couple days later (knowing that I was going to publish this prayer on Thursday) Patti wrote again … “As I was laying awake last night I contemplated another horrifying thought…the Mosquitos in my part of the world don’t carry malaria, so my “minor and temporary inconvenience” is someone else’s life-and-death. Because your blog reaches around the world, perhaps my reflection is not appropriate, or at least the differences in context ought to be mentioned.” 

And so in this tiny insect poem we have questions … why has God created mosquitos … or viruses? What do we do to the balance of creation when we change things … and we only begin with insecticides? How do we pray from our own perspective and yet consider what our very words might mean in another person’s experience? 

I leave you to your own answers to these concerns — pesty, buzzy, itchy…

Mosquito on a person's arm in Tasmania

Mosquito on a person’s arm in Tasmania

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

