Heartbreak and who blesses whom in Blessing of the Animals?

Indie house

Heartbreak is a primary contributor to our ability to love. When we willingly and freely open ourselves to another and receive, in return, less than love or less than what we understand as love or even purposeful pain, the breaking provides cracks through which grace can flow in and out.

Love is a cumulative undertaking, which sometimes must be experienced deeply, elsewhere, before we allow it to return to places and faces where intentional hurt has been wielded in its name. There is but one perfect love and it is certainly not ours, but its dream is what beckons us to offer more of who we are to those willing to try the same with us, even after we both have genuinely tried and fallen short.

Dogs are the best I’ve ever seen at loving unconditionally, even after they’ve been abused. They’re smart enough to steer clear of previous perpetrators, and often even seem to be able to sniff-out fear and anxiety in strangers. But when a tender heart approaches gently, they’re usually all-in.

When your heart is broken, and you’re neck-deep in your feels, let unconditional love put you back together by the rhythm divine mercy offers; but don’t be ashamed of your heart’s cracks. Those are the paths on which love will one day glide; the map grace will trace to the you created before you were born.

© 2015 Todd Jenkins

Todd Jenkins’ thoughts so often touch me. I’m in that Martha busy mode of preparing for the Blessing of the Animals Service on October 3 and he reminds me how animals bless me.

OK especially dogs.

Todd Jenkins blogs over here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heartbreak and who blesses whom in Blessing of the Animals?

  1. I’m preparing for Blessing of Animals today, too. And for so many of us, the steady presence of their unconditional love keeps our faith alive, as well as blessing us every day.

  2. Linda Cetrulo says:

    so true about animals and unconditional love. and yes, especially dogs. My springer spaniel helped me bear the heartbreak in NYC in my 20s and our rescue dog now helps my husband and me heal our current wounds. He always lives “in the present moment” and wants our company and our hugs. Also, he gets us out and walking! Someone once said or wrote “I wish I were the person my dog thinks I am.” Something to aspire to, I guess.

    Linda C

  3. Maren says:

    Dog especially are healers and also bring laughter on days when there is no other reason for joy.

Leave a Reply

