Shall yourselves find blessing

I am swimming in first light
the day after Christmas,
slow because of my torn meniscus
but more quickly than
the woman who comes in,
with a bright yellow swimsuit
and a cane
and asks to share my lane
for her walking.

She says, “Merry Christmas,”220px-Good_King_Wenceslas_10a
I reply, “And a happy Boxing Day.”

The next time we are both turning
at the same end
at the same time, she says,
“Feast of St. Stephen …”

And I start to sing,
“Good King Wenceslas looked out
On the feast of Stephen
When the snow lay round about
Deep and crisp and even …”

And she joins me
and we sing together,

“Brightly shone the moon that night
Though the frost was cruel
When a poor man came in sight
Gath’ring winter fuel.”

And then we keep on singing,
two old women,
both injured and slow,
walking in each other’s
wet footsteps
the day after this Christmas
with its rare full moon —

about compassion
and how it always follows
the feast of the birth of God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shall yourselves find blessing

  1. Titia Bozuwa says:

    I hope your miniscus will heal soon!
    Maren, I have so enjoyed your Gifts in Open Hnads this Advent season. Thank you! For your wisdom, precious thoughts and uncanny ability to find words and images to make us understand them.

    • Maren says:

      Thank you so much, Titia! I am glad you liked these. As for the meniscus — I must wait till March when I am eligible for Medicare (ah, the years pass!)

  2. Gail Orlando says:

    One of those unplanned and yet, Blessed moments!

  3. sugruerm says:

    I hope that with the feasts of Christmas past you will be able to find time to take good care of yourself not only with exercise but with leisure, blessings Rosalie

Leave a Reply

