Monday’s child

I never read aloud
the childhood
fortune-telling rhyme
because both my children
were born on a Wednesday.
and it seemed unfair,
so random.

Profiling always is.

Just like that –
black American teenager,
downstairs neighbor,
or young woman who is
a suicide risk
after a traffic stop,

also, woman wearing hijab,
transgender student,
undocumented migrant,
child coded “on the spectrum.”

Wednesday’s child
is full of woe.

Curiously enough,
when I think family,
it is not so important
that both
my biological children
were born middle of the week,

as the fact that
all
the Wednesday children
of the world are mine.

If you don’t know the old rhyme first collected as a folk song in 1838 Devonshire England, it’s here:
Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go,
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for a living,
And the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday’s child

  1. sugruerm says:

    Your care of all Wednesday children is very clear. What I’d like to know is which child are you? Tuesday perhaps? My mother loved reciting the rhyme to me as to her mind (when small) I was a genuine Sabbath born. I’m afraid I didn’t live up to the prophecy.

Leave a Reply

