Affirmation … “This I know”

LL Kroouze DuBreuil wrote this affirmation in response to an article in “Sojourner’s Magazine” which can be found here.

 The tale is told that the song by “Jesus LovesMe” was widely prevalent in churches in China in the early 1900’s. When the People’s Republic of China persecuted and isolated the Christian church, there was very little information that got out of the country about the well being of Christians. In 1972 some Americans received an unusual message from China–that the “This I know” people were well! The Chinese authorities thought that the message was some kind of nonsense, so they let it through. This affirmation reminds me of just such courage. 

Jesus died for our sins.

What does that mean?
As a sacrificial lamb in substitution?
As an appeasement to a vengeful God?

Jesus died for our sins.

Jesus came into the world to point at injustice and to point to grace.
Jesus lived in the world speaking truth to power and justice to the oppressed.
Jesus rose in the world disobeying the laws of medicine and probabilities.
Jesus became known in this world angering the establishment and thwarting the leaders.
Jesus left this world for the simple reason that we are a sinful people.
Jesus died because of this sin.
Jesus died because power and injustice and establishment would not tolerate him.
Jesus returned to show us God’s ultimate power over the ways of this world.
Jesus lives eternally to assure us of our place in the realm of love and peace that is in our Creator.

Jesus died for our sins and because of our sins.
Jesus loves us for our repentance and fore our willingness to try again.
Jesus saves us from our selves.
Jesus is the way God addresses our failure to accomplish the Kingdom.

I believe Jesus loves me.
I believe that in spite of myself, God loves me.
I believe that in the midst of my weakness, the power of the Spirit makes me worthy of that love.

I believe Jesus loves me.
This I know.

During Lent each year I write a daily devotion and this year it is an ongoing reflection on the lessons of Luke 15: 11-32 — often called the Parable of the Prodigal Son or the Parable of the Two Brothers. I pause on Thursdays when I always post a guest writer and on Sunday which is not really a day of the Lenten Season (ah, chocolate).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Affirmation … “This I know”

  1. Thanks for sharing this –

  2. LL says:

    Blessed to share this. LL Kroouze DuBreuil

  3. revelinor says:

    My father was born in China, where his Dad was the Director of the YMCA for 35 years. The one hymn that he knew in Chinese was “Jesus Loves Me”. which was sung frequently in the Shanghai American Church. Many years later one of our sons was in China for the U.N. and visited the Church which was not only standing but thriving … and probably still singing this hymn, W sing it sometimes (in English) at Old South church in Boston at the time of a baptism. Thank you, Maren, for posting this.

Leave a Reply

