After Robert Frost “The Road Not Taken”

I share Robert Frost’s birthday. Since I was a child, I’ve been fascinated IMG_1039by his poems. My Lenten reflection on Luke 15:11-32 finds me challenging (hopefully honoring his rhythms) perhaps his most familiar.

“Two roads diverged,” he said,
and a person’s choice,
makes for a golden autumn
or merely a broken branch.

“Way leads on to way,” he said,
and coming back
to try another road
is not how the travelers
of life’s lonely woods are made.

But the parable says,
if I read it right
(and I’m reading it rather
more than not,
this Lent of pausing
at the fork of things) …

Two roads diverge,
and then goes on to claim
that the journey back –
repenting a twisted path
of hurt and waste –
is usually the one less traveled,

and, sometimes, going home
makes all the difference.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to After Robert Frost “The Road Not Taken”

  1. rkhammer says:

    Wonderful meditation! I have always loved Frost.

  2. LL says:

    This is one of my favorite poems. wistful . . .

  3. Thanks for this and for the implicit and explicit questions for pondering. I find myself asking another – what if the two roads are the two brothers and their lives? Is there a way back there? Not an idle question, given the deep division in this country now –

  4. Maren says:

    A very good question, Nancy … tomorrow is my guest post, and I won’t exactly answer it on Friday, but in a way …

Leave a Reply

