My preferred pronoun is Xe

March 4, 2016

I am the prodigal –
my preferred pronoun is Xe.

I am the daughter
who leaves because I can’t bear
to be the responsible one,
watching my parents slowly fail.

I am the son who has wanted city life
as long as I remember.

I am the child
whose choice of love
will never be accepted.

I refuse to lick roman boots
the way my parents do,
never standing up for themselves.

I have to gamble. I have to drink.
I have to get away from all
the pointing fingers
and the whispers … “demons.”

I was touched by my uncle
in a very wrong way,
and I will always wonder
… did they know?

I wanted to go to the hills
and be a zealot.
I wanted to follow this preacher
named Jesus, but I got
sidetracked,
with these great new friends,
and good times.
at least for a while.

I am a dreamer or a scoundrel,
a rebel, a loser, a saint.

I am not the bad daughter
up against the good daughter.
I am not a son whose birth order
makes the difference

I will not be a part of
anyone’s binary.
I am many stories; I am my story.

I am the one who is recognized
only at a distance.
Down the long road, “See,” they say,
“Xe is coming home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My preferred pronoun is Xe

  1. rezrevres says:

    Thank you Maren, this will work so well with one of my teachings for this Sunday. Spot on!

  2. Katherine Mills Myers says:

    I will not be a part of
    anyone’s binary.
    I am many stories; I am my story.

    Powerful Maren! I LOVE this.Posting to my Healing and Hope for Body, Mind and Spirit FB page.
    THANK YOU.

  3. Amy says:

    Amen! Healing words indeed.

  4. rezrevres says:

    Just to follow-up Maren, I used this poem as part of one of my teachings on Sunday and had many requests for a copy. Thanks again.

  5. Maren says:

    That’s wonderful — thank you for letting me know (and please may there be no “typos.”

Leave a Reply

