Guest post — Thea Leticia Racelis

Thea’s words speak for themselves:

Today I was listening to a show on the radio and the person interviewed talked about meditation practice and inner peace.
When asked what leads to this inner peace, they spoke of being able to do what you love.
They went on about this at some length- and I could not get over what entitled middle-class bullshit that is. They used the example of actors who are interviewed and say “I can’t believe I get paid to do this.”
While I know the feeling of doing what I am called to do is wonderful, it cannot define me.

Inner peace is not dependent on external factors.

You can be struggling in a shit-job and find inner peace.
You can be dodging calls from the creditors and find inner peace.

We don’t all get to do what we love.
We don’t all get access to the educational opportunities needed.
We don’t all get doors opened to us.
We don’t all get the opportunity to even discover our strengths to begin with when we are in a system that’s constantly beating us down.
We don’t all get the documentation needed to do what we love.

We don’t all make it out of our neighborhoods alive.
We don’t all make it back alive from buying skittles and an iced tea or driving to our new job at a University and forgetting to turn on a blinker or put out a cigarette.
This is like a woo-woo version of pulling yourself up by the bootstraps and I reject it completely.

My peace does not depend on someone else hiring me, validating me, paying me enough.
My peace comes from the certainty that I am enough. No matter what I do: no matter how much or how little I do. No matter where I go. No matter what I own. No matter who I know. Just because I am worthy and loved. And so are you.

Knowing that and abiding in that reality is where I find peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guest post — Thea Leticia Racelis

  1. Emily Geoghegan says:

    Amen and amen!

  2. Amy says:

    Wonderful! Thank you for sharing these words.

  3. Refreshingly honest words here. Thanks to Thea. And yet . . . there is also that peace the rests in a perfect afternoon, lying on the grass, sitting beside the sea – – and many other kinds of peace, I believe.

  4. Judi says:

    So important. Thank you for the graceful reminder. It is so easy to fall into/buy into my “middle-class bullshit.” I am grateful for the reminder to do better because, in it, there is life.

  5. Cheryl Hoffman says:

    Thank you for this.

    Cheryl Hoffman website: ridingatwickwoodfarm.weebly.com

  6. rezrevres says:

    Spot-on Sister!!

Leave a Reply

