A serenity prayer

March 19, 2016 … many thanks to many meetings

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the consequences
of having prodigals in my life –
watching the waste of health and money,
energy expended for so little,
relationships lost forever,

not to speak of
spending cash that won’t be repaid,
time that will not renew,
and losing some of my own friends.

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the diminishments
of having first-borns in my life –
watching dreams undreamed
or given up,
dances undanced, chances unchanced,

not to speak of
trying to avoid the splash back
from their self-poisoning
by continually criticizing others.

God, grant me the courage
to make a home
for these unattractive folks,

the courage to go roadside
to welcome them in,
when others think I am foolish,

the courage to trust
that they will not change me,

the courage to wait as long as it takes
for them to find themselves.

God grant me the wisdom
to recognize
a dumpster-diver and a tight-ass
deep inside of me,

and to welcome all of myself
to the home who is God. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A serenity prayer

  1. sugruerm says:

    I hope you are going to make a book of these poems.

  2. Maren says:

    I am thinking about it, but yikes then there is Easter coming!

  3. Emily Geoghegan says:

    Maren, you are making me cry again. Very powerful. Thank you.

  4. Maren says:

    I am going to need to do an Eastertide joke-fest (No, God please don’t call me to that!).

Leave a Reply

