Prodigal theology … speaking of God

March 21, 2016

If the parent in this story is God,
I am responsible to start walking back –
sorry Calvin.

If the parent in this story is God,
then my personal cracking open the door,
my stingy and grudging
welcome
must become a party.

If the parent in this story is God,
then the righteous and the self-righteous,
(whom I usually like less
than the blatant badasses
of this world)
get a personal invitation, too.

If the parent in this story is God,
then pastor and therapist,
sponsor and probation officer,
old friend, service dog,
and the new nervous volunteer
on the suicide prevention line,
do not need to be
saviors,
only pretty good pig farmers.

If the parent in this story is God,
then God is not anything like …

the human parent I knew,
the human parent I try to be,
the human parent I fail to be,
the human parent I choose not to be,
or a judge,
or an eternal accountant.

If this parent is who God is,
then why am I waiting?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prodigal theology … speaking of God

  1. Jnana Hodson says:

    Once again, the text isn’t “something back then” but rather living history with each of us prominently in the scene.

  2. If this story would come up again, and often, then I could use all these poems, each more insightful than the last, as the Call to Worship on that Sunday . . . maybe a year of the Prodigal Son as the reading?

  3. Maren says:

    That makes me chuckle! But thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

