Home for Easter

March 22, 2016 tomorrow is the last of this series of poems inspired by Luke 15:11-32 … I suddenly thought this morning how very likely it is that the older sibling, so prone to doing the expected, might be married and have a child. And that for the prodigal, perhaps, would be the hardest thing.

I give thanks for the blessings
of return to a place
I thought I had lost,
a place that thought it lost me,

until I came to my senses.

The smell of sheets
in a bed prepared for me –
maybe they are worn old sheets
and maybe crisp new ones,
but they are smell like laundry
and they are laid out
so that I can rest.

The sight of laugh lines
soft and stretched
among joy and sorrow wrinkles
in an old familiar face.

The taste of fatted … cake?
a cake for me,
and my favorite … baked bread
or chili or mac and cheese,
the big pot of coffee,
the taste of conversation
after my self-imposed fast
from words of kindness.

The sound of the running feet
of a child.
The sound stops,
the child is suddenly shy
because I am a stranger.
The echo of my loss,
of this niece’s babyhood.

An overture
to our possible music.

The touch of a hand clasped,
warm and genuine
I did not dare to expect hugs,
and I will wait for them.

The dead is alive,
and that is
always
a good time to come home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Home for Easter

  1. livelypye says:

    These have been absolutely remarkable poems/meditations. Your style of poetry as thoughts running through the head is so accessible. I ‘got’ each one so easily yet they were not ‘simple’ or ‘noncomplex’ but real and vital. This is a different style of poetry to me and most useful for thought and depth of reflection. I appreciate your work so much and can’t wait for more. Nancy Lively

    >

    • Maren says:

      I am so very moved that these rather unpolished small Lenten pieces have such a lovely response. Thank you so very much and yes I am considering polishing and turning them into a chapbook. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. Shirley says:

    Maren, your wee-hour contributions of thought and prayer have been inspired by you and inspirational to your readers. Thank you. May your Holy Week be rich with depth of meaning for you and for your congregation. Shirley Anderson

  3. Bravo! Bravo! Do make a chap book of all of these –

  4. Gayle Murphy says:

    What a great message of resurrection. The whole series has been wonderful. I trust it has bless both you and the congregation. Happy Easter!

  5. Annamarie says:

    Following this poetry series has been a wonderful Lenten exercise. It is amazing how much can be extracted from one short text. I hope you will compile them into a book. I would definitely buy it and recommend it to others.

  6. Annamarie says:

    Following this poetic series has been a wonderful Lenten exercise. It is amazing how many different themes and issues can be extracted from one short piece of text. I hope that you will compile them into a book. I would buy it and recommend it to others

Leave a Reply

