Reflections on Thomas from Venezuela

Jesus Appears to Thomas .   Jacek Andrzej Rossakiewicz,  from Art in the Christian Tradition

Jesus Appears to Thomas .
Jacek Andrzej Rossakiewicz,
from Art in the Christian Tradition

Obed Juan Vizcaíno Nájera of Venezuela has been moved every day of Holy Week to write poetry — and even beyond those days he continues as today he reflects on the story of Thomas and his very personal visit from Jesus.

¡Yo soy!
Están todavía escondidos,
todavia tenían terror,
¡Paz a ustedes!
¿Qué hacen aquí ocultos?
¿Tienen miedo?
Venzan su cobardía,
miren mis manos,
mi costado.

¡Yo soy!
No hay tiempo para esconderse,
el Padre me ha enviado,
y yo les envio a ustedes,
en medio de lobos,
de gente que quiere ver derramar
sangre de gente inocente.
Les envio,
sean valientes,
no teman ni desmayen,
estaré con ustedes hasta el fin del mundo.

¡Yo soy!
Reciban al Espíritu Santo,
perdonen los pecados de quienes les ofenden
y maltratan,
si ustedes no perdonan,
si no predican,
muchos y muchas no serán perdonados,
el perdón es amor.

¡Yo soy!
Vengan,
metan sus dedos en las heridas de mis manos,
introduzcan sus manos en la herida de mi costado.
No duden,
simplemente crean,
en realidad estoy con ustedes,
no soy un espíritu.
Es dificil creer sin ver,
sin palpar,
sin buscar una explicación lógica.

¡Yo soy!
Metan sus dedos y manos,
sacien su curiosidad,
Que fácil es creer asi como creen ustedes,
caminar como un simples seguidores,
como alguien más del monton.

¡Yo soy!
Si, soy su Señor y su Dios,
su hermano,
soy su amigo.
Muchos y muchas creeran sin ver,
sin tocar, ni urgar,
sin revivir dolores,
creeran por lo que se les predica,
con alegría,
solo por fe.

¡Yo soy!
Seré tambien su Señor y Dios,
Su maestro y amigo.
La fe de ustedes es certeza de lo que esperan,
la convicción de lo que todavía
no alcanzan a ver.
¡Yo soy!
Rev. Obed Juan Vizcaíno Nájera.
Maracaibo – Venezuela

I am!
Are you still hidden,
still filled with terror?
Peace to you!
What are you doing here hidden?
Are you afraid?
Conquer your cowardice,
Look at my hands,
My side.

I am!
There’s no time to hide,
The Father has sent me,
And I send you to them,
Into thevery  midst of wolves,
Of people who want to see shed
The blood of innocent people.
I send you,
Be brave,
Do not fear nor falter,
I’ll be with you till the end of the world.

I am!
Receive The Holy Spirit,
Forgive the sins of those who trespass
And abuse you.
If you don’t forgive.
If you do not preach,
Many will not find forgiveness,
and the truth of forgiveness is love.

I am!
Come on,
Put your fingers into the holes of my hands,
Reach your hands into the wound in my side.
Do not doubt,
Simply create,
In truth, in reality, I’m with you,
I am not a spirit.
It’s hard to believe without seeing,
Without Touch,
Without some logical explanation.

I am!
Use your fingers and hands,
Satisfy your curiosity,
It’s as simple to believe as thinking,
Walk as simple followers,
Like one of the children.

I am!
Yes,
I am your Lord and your God,
Your brother,
and I am your friend.
Many to come will believe without seeing,
No touching, no rubbing,
No re-living all the pain,
Believing what is preached,
With Joy,
with simple faith.

I am!
I am also lord and God,
teacher and friend.
The Faith of you is sure of what we hope for,
The conviction of what I do
though many cannot see …
I am!
Rev. Obed Juan Vizcaíno Nájera.
Maracaibo – Venezuela

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on Thomas from Venezuela

  1. LL says:

    Lord, give me such a simple faith: no conditions, no footnotes, no fears. Amen.

Leave a Reply

