Thanksgiving wishes for Canada

Monday, October 10 is Thanksgiving in Canada. Many countries have different dates for the celebration of thanksgiving. Some of these occasions reflect gratitude for the harvest and some for the end of conflict, drought or some other unfortunate situation. Examples of these festivals are found in the biblical text.

I am reprinting these particular resources from this blog posted four years ago and offer it to all with good wishes. My thanks to Canadian writers Richard Bott and Patti Rodgers for the reminder of thanks and for taking me out of the stress of the US pre-election time which is daunting this year. A call to worship and a prayer:

ONE: From the eagles’ aerie, to the fishes’ deep –
ALL: from the colour drenched leaves, to the rain drenched street
(or “to the frost covered street” – the first is Vancouver,
 the second is just about everywhere else!)
ONE: with our lips, with our hearts, with our hands, with our feet –
ALL: we sing out, “ALLELUIA!”
we laugh out, “HOSANNA!”
we shout out, “THANK YOU, LOVING GOD!”
ONE: For all that was.
ALL: For all that is.
ONE: For all that will be.
ALL: Alleluia. Hosanna! THANK YOU, LOVING GOD!
ONE: For all that we were.
ALL: For all that we are.
ONE: For all that we could be!
ALL: Alleluia. Hosanna! THANK YOU, LOVING GOD!
ONE: So, together we sing…
ALL: Let it be.
ONE: Together we say…
ALL: May it always be so.
ONE: Together we shout…
ALL: AMEN!
Richard Bott

Rain Drenched Streets of Vancouver

God, remind me to look beneath my feet at the rich world of life going on down there.
God, remind me to look up, hear the wind whisper and see the arms of the mother trees outstretched to the sky.
God, remind me that I am not walking to burn calories, but to feed my soul
God, remind me that beyond my sight are silent eyes of moose, bear, deer and chipmunk watching to see what I will do.
God, remind me to be still and feel resurrection all around me in falling leaves and growing moss
God, who are we to build cathedrals?
Patti Rodgers

Read this again with her photographs interspersed.

God, remind me to look beneath my feet at the rich world of life going on down there.

Mushrooms

God, remind me to look up, hear the wind whisper and see the arms of the mother trees outstretched to the sky.

Maple Branches

God, remind me that I am not walking to burn calories, but to feed my soul
God, remind me that beyond my sight are silent eyes of moose, bear, deer and chipmunk watching to see what I will do.

Stump

God, remind me to be still and feel resurrection all around me in falling leaves and growing moss.

Leaf

God, who are we to build cathedrals?
Patti Rodgers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

