For Standing Rock – A Commission

Go, therefore, among the many nations
whom I love, and
standing on their own ground
not on yours, remember
that to baptize is to recognize
the holiness of water.
And teach yourselves
so that you can learn with others
how I walked on the earth
with justice and compassion,
with healing and with hope.

I will be with those
who face pepper spray and tanks,
dogs trained to attack,
rubber bullets, concussion cannons
who are arrested as I was,

till the end of the age,
which is no vague metaphor,
nor an individualistic platitude.

I will be with you
in each place where the need is great
and you are full of fear,
just as I am at Standing Rock,
facing the Dakota Access Pipeline,

in the name of the Creator of sacred earth,
the Spirit in all wind that blows,
and my name,
born in the water of the womb,
washed in death,
risen in the river of life.

Matthew 28: 19-20
Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything that I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.’

This poem was actually inspired by Richard Bott’s beautiful rendition of the Great Commission and David Archambault II’s plea for support for the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to For Standing Rock – A Commission

  1. Great words. The rights of indigenous people are ignored, denied or abused in many countries – are you willing to let people in other places adapt verses 2 and 4 to address what happens in their situation?

  2. Maren says:

    Oh my goodness Rosalie — I would be honored.

  3. I’m so glad you wrote about this, and more than once. No one else seems to be paying attention. I’m disappointed that the Conference isn’t. And so relieved that you are.

  4. Maren says:

    I think that this is absolutely crucial to who we are. thank you for your support.

  5. Pingback: Prayer in Solidarity with Standing Rock Action - Kansas-Oklahoma Conference UCC

Leave a Reply

