Thanksgiving Inventory, 2016

I am thankful the people missingStockbridge
from my Thanksgiving table
were people I loved —
not everyone has
my lucky, lucky tears.

I am thankful for a country
where the least likable person
could be elected president,
but that many of us are not afraid
to protest his threats
against those
who must be very afraid.

I am thankful for my alcoholism
giving birth to a recovery
that blesses me
with empathy,
a few tools to help others,
also a small liquor store bill.

I am thankful that my dogs
are rescued,
my books are second-hand,
my singing makes people laugh,
and Leonard Cohen sang
about the broken Hallelujahs
I’ve known all my life.

I am thankful that my death
is closer than my birth,
so I have a deep reservoir
of tender memories,
but, if I lose them, like my parents did,
there are people who will try
every day to make my life sweet —
family and friends,
and some gentle paid people,
so even my neediness
helps somebody make a living.

I am thankful for prayer,
the many faces and names of God
around the world,
the Spirit that prays me like a fiddle
or a child’s game in the sand –

when the tide comes in
and even my thankful is quiet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Thanksgiving Inventory, 2016

  1. Stephen Price says:

    And I am thankful for your poetry
    and the tears
    gentle or angry and hot
    that have been gift wrung from your words.

  2. Emily Geoghegan says:

    That’s beautiful Maren. Thank you! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  3. Maren says:

    And to you as well, Emily and Leanne.

  4. Mary Elford says:

    Maren, thank you for your words, and your way with them. I typed this in before, and deleted it, and came back and typed it again. I follow what you post here, and have 4 of your books. You don’t know me, we’ve never met, but I thank you.
    Deep, tender memories, indeed.

  5. Maren says:

    Thank you, Mary, for making yourself present for me, for reading here … goodness for buying my books! but mostly for reaching out.

  6. Jane Fisler Hoffman says:

    Thank you, Maren. Touching and right on for many of us. I’m sharing with some of my age cohort at church. Jane ( Fisler Hoffman)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  7. Maren says:

    Our age cohort. Thanks so much, Jane.

  8. Steffie Kyte says:

    I am thankful to have your poetry to enrich my life. Thinking of you and Don, Matthew and Maria, and the rest of your family! Happy Thanksgiving, Maren,
    Steffie

  9. LL says:

    Sunday morning we looked around the sanctuary and gave thanks for the empty pews that had once been filled by beloved members. Our hearts were full indeed!

  10. Maren says:

    What a wonderful practice — I will do this as well.

  11. I am thankful for Maren’s thoughtful writings.

Leave a Reply

