Where are my party-shoes?

I am not going to the inauguration.

I am not going
like John Lewis,
Barbara Lee, Earl Blumenauer,
Katherine Clark, Luis Gutiérrez.

Well, actually … I was not invited.

I was not invited
like liberty, tolerance, civility.

Now, not going somewhere
with John Lewis — that’s a party!
I’ve been waiting for that
invitation
since I was a child.

The next day is something else.
I’m going to that party
in Washington and all over
the country,
the party that’s hoping for,
praying for, working for,
protesting for —
hope and justice,
care for the most vulnerable,
love for this country.

And not just the next day,
but this will be the longest, sweetest,
most door-open party
of them all.
It’s going to last
every day of what’s coming …

and that’s what John Lewis taught me
about action
long ago and Friday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Where are my party-shoes?

  1. LL says:

    I’ll be partying in Trenton NJ! In solidarity . . .

  2. dabar96 says:

    You are “going” to show up to life and faith; the event to which we’ve all received an invitation. It is an event of both party and struggle. Lord, give us courage to live presence.

  3. Stephen Price says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you

  4. fosteringyourfaith says:

    Looking forward to partying with people across the globe. See you in DC!

  5. Emily Geoghegan says:

    My dancing shoes are on! I’ll party with you anytime Maren!

  6. Maren says:

    May there be a whole new need for cobblers!!!

  7. Well said – Bravo – Amen!

  8. Poetarc says:

    Amen, Maren. Let the open-door party begin!

Leave a Reply

