I once lived in a land … poem by Carol Hallman

Thanks to Carol for this amazing poem.

I once lived in a land
(or at least I thought I did)
That valued diversity
Uniqueness, inquisitiveness, intelligence

I once lived in a land
(or at least I thought I did)
That welcomed the tired and poor
The yearning to breathe free

I once lived in a land
(or at least I thought I did)
Which was celebrated as a
Great melting pot
Of diversity

I once lived in a land
(or at least I thought I did)
That maybe not always lived its ideal
At least had an ideal
Where all people were equal
Where communities could gather
And celebrate their differences

I once lived in a land
(or at least I thought I did)
Where while we might not
Always agree were at least
Aggregable

That land seems so long ago
Hate-filled rhetoric has torn
The nation asunder
Misogyny
Sexism
Ageism
Discrimination
Are now accepted norms

My neighbors tell me
“He says what I was thinking”
As if that somehow makes it all right

Who knew that so many
Hearts were so hateful, so hardened
Who knew that so many
Only cared about themselves
What “I” could get
What “I” need
What I want

Change they said
That is what we want

(And then they sent them all back
All the senators and house of representative folks
The ones who have earned their living there
They’ve sent them back)

So that they could
Tear down what was built
Shred the dream of diversity
Destroy the hope
Of equality

I once lived in a land
(or at least I thought I did)
That was better than that

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I once lived in a land … poem by Carol Hallman

  1. Emily Geoghegan says:

    Thank you for sharing. Heartbreaking days.

  2. Maren says:

    Yes, indeed — it’s been a while since we … laughed.

  3. dabar96 says:

    It is disconcerting and painful to find we’ve been evicted from that land. My prayer is that we can find our way back to the place where the truly dispossessed are not only allowed through the border, but also given a seat at the table with a plate piled high and a cup filled to the brim.

    Thank you both for this inspirational reminder. > > >

Leave a Reply

