Prayer before a reading from the Psalms

God, do not let me read this text,
do not let me study this text,
do not let me argue this text.

Teach me to sing these words
as they were sung so long ago.
Teach me to dance these words,
drum them, whistle them,
find them on my guitar.

Though I do not know the original tune,
I can find music in my heart,
not just a personal playlist,
but the sweet pick-up-chorus
of this community of faith. amen.

newest-choir-member-2jpg

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer before a reading from the Psalms

  1. I do love this small boy, singing – and I confess my eyes pulled away from the top of the picture, all those open-mouthed church women. I have found it a work of patience all these years, to listen with kindness to the screeching and squawking that passes for choiring in so many churches. A boon to the singers, yes. A pain to the hearers, also yes. And a reason many newcomers drift away to churches with good bands instead. But the small boy is redemptive, though he might truly prefer a church band with a beat, still he is where his family brought him, and learning to sing praises as part of their life together. Thanks for the picture!

Leave a Reply

