Prayer before reading John 3:16 (not on a keyring or a bumper sticker)

God, help me to feel the connection
between loving and giving,
rather than loving and keeping.

God, help me remember that you
loved the world all the way to Christmas,
which may have hurt more than Calvary.

God, unhook my presumption
to define “believing,”
and expand my understanding
of “everyone.”

God, remind me to rejoice in being
just a part of your world,
and celebrate the old man with the questions
and the answer that involved diapers
God, give us today not only eternal,
but also daily life. Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer before reading John 3:16 (not on a keyring or a bumper sticker)

  1. Nathaniel C. Emens says:

    God, help me to understand why others do not understand
    why I love the strangers.

Leave a Reply

