Prayer of illumination (spoken or unspoken) before the scripture at a funeral

God, open these familiar words
so that we find ourselves
among the long and tender-hearted
generations of grievers.

We join the communion of the tears
who have heard these words
and been comforted,
and we are confident today,
listening for a whisper of alleluia,
for the sound of a stone rolling,
that carves a deep crevasse across our lives,
but promises easter
to someone we love. amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prayer of illumination (spoken or unspoken) before the scripture at a funeral

  1. LL says:

    Today I will bury my mother’s sister. I need these words. Thank you.

    • Maren says:

      I am so sorry, LL, for the loss of your aunt, but also for needing to be in charge and comforting others in this difficult time. YOu will be in my prayers.

      • Nathaniel C. Emens says:

        It is a very sad time. At my age of 89, I find all my friends are dieng and only one is now
        left, Father Bob Regan a Jesuit who played basketball with me in high school. Now I am
        forced to make new friends and they are taking care of me. Bless you, for what you do
        for others. Nat Emens

      • Maren says:

        And bless you Nat for all you have done and continue to do.

Leave a Reply

