Prayer of Illumination, 2 Timothy 3:16-17

All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.

God I am pretty sure that “inspired”
means you stirred the heart
of someone just like me
and “useful” means that it can be used —
learned from, explored,
debated, prayed over,
and contrasted to other scriptures
in many different ways.

So often I feel battered
by the way people “use” this text —
not to celebrate
the breathtaking variety and joy
of the gift of scripture
and how it can be returned to
again and again for
new depths and possibilities,

but to sanctify
a favorite single interpretation
of some other scripture
they would like to win with,
usually at the expense
of someone else’s life.

All scripture is kaleidoscope –
but only if I turn it to your light, O God.
Help me ignore those
with the dish of broken glass.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prayer of Illumination, 2 Timothy 3:16-17

  1. Stephen Price says:

    Yes. Thank you

  2. Jim Tschudy says:

    Thank you for these words and for the thoughts they leave that come like a gentle spring shower transforming a winter dirty
    world into diamond dew lighted green.

  3. miscott39@gmail.com says:

    Your words nearly always speak what I seem to need to hear/read. May I share this with our church members via our emailed newsletter? Of course, I will direct them to this wonderful sharing that you do. Power to us all in this Spring Equinox,

    • Maren says:

      I would be honored. Thank you for sharing with others and thank you for letting me know that something I have written has meaning. That touches me so much.

Leave a Reply

