Prayer of the liturgist before reading scripture

God, I confess
I have not practiced this scripture
as if it were the most important
part of worship.
Thank you for your forgiveness
and the privilege
to read your Word aloud.

Slow me down.
Keep me bold with place names
as I invite people to walk
in a landscape
far away and long ago.

Open my voice
to its most beautiful vowels,
and crisp consonants.
Bless me with the microphone
and do not let me presume
my voice is big enough —
for your child with hearing loss
is listening through
the gift of technology.

Help me breathe deeply into these words
and know it is the Holy Spirit.

Remind me that someone
here this morning
needs the very message of this scripture,
more than the sermon to come.

Thank you for the charisms
of the preacher, those who prepared music,
those who made this a place of beauty,
and all who worship
in prayer, song and giving,

and thank you for trusting me
to read your written grace. amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer of the liturgist before reading scripture

  1. dabar96 says:

    “Remind me that someone
    here this morning
    needs the very message of this scripture,
    more than the sermon to come.”

    Remind us all!

Leave a Reply

