Prayer for illumination of my bones (Ezekiel 37)

God, speak to my
malleus, incus, and stapes
so I can hear your prophesy.
Pick up my skull
and set it on my atlas vertebrae
at the top of my spine
so I can think about these words.

Rattle me – femur and tibia,
fibula, pelvis, and all those
phalanges and metatarsals –

so that I am ready
not just for the dancing skeleton
we call worship,
and the embodied loving
of justice and compassion,

but for the Spirit’s
wild and holy breath.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prayer for illumination of my bones (Ezekiel 37)

  1. Thank you for this, I will delight in reading it after the Hebrew Scripture reading this Sunday
    (have just completed wrestling with a reflection on Lazarus).

  2. Bet you are glad you aren’t preaching, or are you? I’ll send you a copy – if anyone else wants one send me an email

Leave a Reply

