Prayer before reading scripture that presents God in a way I do not like

God, I don’t like this scripture.
I don’t like to think about you angry,
cruel to the vulnerable,
(like all those Egyptian babies
Rahab’s neighbors, Job),
enjoying war,

choosing special people
from among all your children,
talking hell and highwater.

Arks, rainbows, many rooms,
sun shining on the good and the evil,
care for the foreigner,
good Samaritan –
I have a custom collection
of other scripture,
and I understand writers’ context.

But I am about ready
to open my mouth on these words
in these days,
among people I do not know.

Some of them may be already
bible-wounded.

I want you to know it is hard for me,
and I am trusting you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prayer before reading scripture that presents God in a way I do not like

  1. Stephen Price says:

    I sometimes think we wander like medics on a battlefield among the “Bible wounded.” Thank you for this prayer.

  2. Maren says:

    that is a wonderful way to put it. thank you.

  3. sugruerm says:

    I think it is so important for the congregation to grasp that we are an evolved, and evolving people. The layers of ancients who compiled the Bible were people of their time. The divine inspirations they sought to share were restricted by the limitations of primitive (mis) understandings.

  4. Maren says:

    Amen to that. Nor did they have the sense of “facts” that people in contemporary times do.

Leave a Reply

