Prayer before reading scripture aloud that has a personal meaning

God, these were the precious words
from my mother’s funeral,
or the wedding text for my friend
who has recently divorced,
or the passage I heard
just before I made a decision
that changed my life.

(Here’s looking at you:
“shake the dust off the sandals.”)

Remind me that this is going to be —
another story
for another listener,
a psalm of comfort for another grief,
someone else’s scorching prophecy.

Remind me that not only
should I set down my baggage,
but even strip naked,
if I want to proclaim this text
as holy, new,
and not my possession.

Finally, remind me that then
it can also be
another story for me. amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer before reading scripture aloud that has a personal meaning

  1. nigel says:

    Maren – thank you for these prayers of enlightenment. I’ve used a couple, but more than that it has been an exercise in spiritual discipline to use them for my preaching and for my day. Thank you for this gift.

    • Maren says:

      Thank you, Nigel. That is truly more the intention of these prayers than to put in a bulletin. It has been my Lenten discipline to think through each of these different concerns that are about my reading scripture (or teaching lay people to read it) In a long ministry when preaching was considered the most important thing, I’ve come to realize that sermons come and go but sharing scripture with a worshiping group will stay with them for their lifetimes. Thank you so much for reading.

Leave a Reply

