April Fool’s Day Lectionary

Hebrew Bible Lesson: Psalm 23

The Lord is my wolf cub
and I had better watch my fingers.

The wolf chases me
past comfortable resting spots
and howls till I wake up
and either open the window
or change the world.

The wolf chases me till I acknowledge
God is an endangered species,
chases me into the valley of extinction
so I look at human evil.

You teach me to hunt
what will nourish and nurture me,
not expect the table of entitlement
You help me understand we are pack –
not friend and enemy.

You anoint my head with moonlight,
and I, too, will learn to sing.
Surely tooth and claw will keep me honest
all the days of my life,
and a den of leaves and love
will be my only dwelling place
my whole life long.

Christian gospel: John 14: 2-6

“Under my Parent’s highway overpass
there are many pieces of cardboard.
If I go to prepare a soup kitchen for you,
also I will dumpster dive,
so you may be fed.

“I will come again and again,
asking you to follow me,
that where I am homeless,
you may be also.”

Thomas said to him,
“Lord, we don’t even know
if there will be warm showers there.
How can we know whether to follow?”

Jesus said to him, “I am the poor,
and the hurt and the stinking.
Come through me
if you want to meet a god like that.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

