Beautiful Things – a poem for Memorial Day

I used to volunteer in a shelter
for women who needed a safe casa
from domestic violence.
A little girl stayed there
for several months
and I got to know her.

She used to wrap up
in this old maroon quilt.
It was frayed and torn – really a scrap
of what it once had been.

Each week I sorted donations.
there were many children’s clothes,
beautiful things,
name-brands and fine fabrics,
from families who felt
they had so much.

I asked this girl
if she wanted to trade
her old quilt for a pretty sweater
(this was before
I had children of my own
and knew better).

“No,” she said, and shook her head.,
“This is my abuela’s shawl.
And, as if I would know,
if I had half a brain, or maybe a heart,

“She’s dead but her love
still keeps me warm.”

I am a grandmother these days,
and I want nothing more
than to be remembered this way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beautiful Things – a poem for Memorial Day

  1. Titia Bozuwa says:

    So beautiful!

  2. dabar96 says:

    A beautiful spark from the warmth of a fire passed down and crossed over. Thank you for sharing the love with us. ❤️

  3. Stephen Price says:

    Thank you

  4. Maren says:

    My great thanks — a little personal these days. Now that I’ve returned home from nearly a month “on the road” perhaps I will return to the political … but then again the personal is political and the political is personal.

  5. Mark Rideout says:

    Monday tears [read, wet, water, drippy]…remembering the warmth in life, of the many who shared an enveloping love, still so close.

  6. Maren says:

    They are, aren’t they. This was a hard Mother’s Day this year with a new baby born whom great grandma would have loved so much!

  7. ahuntca says:

    thank you and ditto on all the beautifuls…. blessings!

Leave a Reply

