Romans 8 for a situation with dementia …

A friend asked me to write about Alzheimers and this is what emerged:

Who will separate us from the love of Christ,
and the love of one another?
Will memory loss,
or confusion, or delirium, or swearing,
or wandering, or shaking, or tears?

No, in all these things we are human
and truly God loves us.

For we are convinced
that neither incontinence
nor forgetting how to get home,
nor sundowning,
nor sudden anger,

nor skills no longer present,
treasured stories no longer told,
concern with appearance or smell
no longer of importance,

nor fear of things to come,
nor impairment of sight,
nor failure in mobility,
nor needing help even to eat,

nor anything else in all vulnerability,
is able to separate us
in any true and real sense,
from the love of God in Christ Jesus
and, through that sustaining grace,
the love of those who hold us dear.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Romans 8 for a situation with dementia …

  1. Kathy Clark says:

    Maren – I was wondering if I could get permission from you to use this post in our next church newsletter as I have a number of parishioners with Alzheimer’s or dementia or they are caregiving for a loved one who does. I would certainly give any attribution you would like. Thanks, Kathy Clark Federated Church of East Arlington, VT

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Patti Lawrence says:

    This has long been my guiding light scripture, and now even more meaningful in this context. After caring for my mother with Alzheimer’s for 5 years until she died, I now take care of my husband with dementia. Every day “Nothing can separate us from God’s Love” is in my heart. Thank you for this!

    I would like to share this on Facebook. Is that all right to do?

    Patti Lawrence

    Rev Patricia Lawrence 6913 Starview Court North Chesterfield, VA 23225 revslaw@aol.com

    • Maren says:

      Patti, My heart goes out to you. Certainly share it on Facebook. I put it up on my FGB account yesterday (not everyone is a blog reader) I cared for both of my parents with Alzheimers (and I have written a lot of poetry across the years about it — the full caretaking was about 15 years), but the woman who asked me for it was dealing with her husband’s situation and I believe that is much harder.The doctors told me to expect the illness myself and to make peace with it. Grace surround you and may you have many sweet days among the more bitter ones.

Leave a Reply

