World Communion Sunday, 2017

Communion

I have a dream
that everyone in the world
is holding the hand of someone
who is holding the hand of someone
who is holding the hand
of a parent of one of the children
who died in the earthquake in Mexico,

except for the people
who are flying kites with keys attached
(without necessarily looking
like Benjamin Franklin)
to send electricity to Puerto Rico,

and those who are sewing
the pants of the leaders
of the United States and North Korea
to their chair cushions,
so they will have to sit and talk
rather than strutting into war,

and several whose toes are deep
in the soil of Bears Ears
and other sacred places of the earth
which is all of them,

and many who are kneeling.

I wake up confused from my dream
but I am smiling,
for even when my plate is very full
and my cup is always broken,
I will not be split apart —

for we are a world in communion.

 

Jan Richardson images

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to World Communion Sunday, 2017

  1. I wonder about your phrase Bears Ears you’ve used more than once lately? Presumably it is an indigenous concept, perhaps not unlike the Maori ‘whenua’ that means ‘land’ and also ‘placenta’ and gives spiritual significance to both.

    • Maren says:

      Bears Ears National Monument in Utah is a sacred place for five Native American tribes and is cared for by the National park service and a coalition of the Navajo Nation, Hopi, Ute Mountain Ute, Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation, and the Pueblo of Zuni and the movement to shrink this holy place by the current administration for the sake mostly of oil drilling is a symbol for anti-earth care and anti-indigenous sentiment in that administration. It has two distinct mesas that look like bears ears. Yes, it is used in common speech (although it is a literal place) like whenua.

  2. Stephen Price says:

    Have I said lately that it is these pictures you draw for us are one of the sources of Hope that keeps me going in the darkness that surrounds us? Thank you. Please don’t stop.

  3. I think I’d like to use the graphic on my bulletin cover on Sunday. Is that okay?
    I’m also thinking about how to integrate the poem into the liturgy. You do fine work, Maren, and this is one of your finest!

  4. sugruerm says:

    I feel inspired to read this poem to my congregation tomorrow (it is not their ‘Communion’ day but I will remind the gathered that it is World Communion Sunday and ask them to think of a happy encounter with a person from another country or culture, briefly share the story with the person next to them, then pass the peace to their neighbor and the person in their neighbour’s story.

  5. Maren says:

    How wonderful Rosalie, and goodness that is pretty much happening now! Sedning blessings! Maren

    • sugruerm says:

      I read this poem to the Sunday congregation at Waikanae and the Tuesday Women’s
      Fellowship at Raumati Beach, evoking a chuckle of surprise and nods of affirming contemplation in both towns; thank you.

  6. Maren says:

    I am delighted Jeffrey! I put it at the end of my sermon and I was a guest preacher but yours may be the better placement.

  7. Maren says:

    Oh, I’m glad!!!! I bet they liked — sewing the pants!

  8. Maren says:

    I love the tree of hope on your Facebook page! And following it down further — the picture of the mummy!

    • sugruerm says:

      Frankenstien’s Monster and bride (AKA Troy & Jayne) had a ‘Life & Death’ costume party (mostly for clients) to celebrate their 40th ‘s – it seemed appropriate for parents to be Mummy and Father Time – it was a few years ago, photo just happened to re-surface.

Leave a Reply

