New Year’s Eve (Ecclesiastes 3:1-13) A version for those of us chronologically advantaged …

For everything there is a season,
but my joints creak a lot in the winter.

The time to be born is the distant past,
and it’s time I think about improving
what gets written in my obituary.
There’s a time to plant myself in front of the fire,
and a time to pluck up my behind from the recliner;
a time to kill the sharp response,
and a time to heal the family wounds;
a time to break down in public – who cares?
and a time to build up the confidence of some teenager.

There’s a time to weep, creep, 
and unexpectedly sleep,
and a time to laugh at myself doing it;
a time to throw away … well, just about everything,
and a time to gather a little online savvy;
a time to embrace and embrace and embrace,
and a time to silently hope I will not soon
experience what it is
to refrain from embracing.

There’s a time to seek, to lose,
and to wonder why I came here in the first place;
a time to tear down any old walls that are still standing,
and a time to stitch up my lips;
lots of time to keep silence … in front of a sunrise,
a child’s smile, and several enthusiastic plans
that I know won’t work out,
and a time to speak kindly and with lots of love …
after that happens.

There are months and months and months for love,
and a couple hours to hate loneliness, cancer,
and Alzheimer’s Disease.
There is a time to really hate war, racism, intolerance,
and a time to work for peace,
no matter how old or tired or frustrated I feel.

What gain do workers or retirees have from their toil?
I have seen that many things fail or fade
or fritter away —
quite a few in the church I love —
but God has given a joy to being busy.

God has put past and future in our minds,
and sometimes they flip flop,
and my brain goes back to the beginning.
It’s OK. There is nothing better than to be happy,
spread happiness, but never be comfortable
while there is one unhappy story on the news —
one refugee, one heroin loss,
one broken police force
and remind everyone of God’s simple gifts –
food, drink and the pleasure of work well done.Happy-New-Year-Clip-art-Images

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Year’s Eve (Ecclesiastes 3:1-13) A version for those of us chronologically advantaged …

  1. sugruerm says:

    Thank you Maren, and a Happy Hew Year to You

  2. rezrevres says:

    Dear Maren:
    Whether you intended to or not, you’ve nicely summarized the entire concept of “Eldership”. Of particular noteworthiness is your final line “God’s simple gifts – food, drink and the pleasure of work well done”, Beyond these three salient points there simply is nothing in life of greater lasting value.
    Thank you for sharing your wisdom, and in the process bringing together different folks with divergent perspectives from the four corners of the globe to share their wisdom. Your blog has been such a source of thought provoking pondering, powerful liturgy, insightful inspiration – not to mention frequently much needed soothing humour. May I wish you a continuance of blessings in 2016 . Chi-miigwech & zhawendaagozi.

    • Maren says:

      Thank you, Matthew. A profound compliment re-invigorating me to continue at least another year. I wish, sometimes that I could embody the eldership as well as I can see it “across the room” Blessings to you as well in this new year.

    • Maren says:

      thank you Nancy and thank you as well for a remarkable series of blogs recently — I find I cannot comment without signing up for all of Patheos and I’m not quite ready to have the responsibility to read so much more weekly content. You are indeed their best.

  3. Katherine Mills Myers says:

    Thank you Maren. Sharing this on my FB Healing and Hope for Body, Mind and Spirit page. Happy and Healthy New Year to you.

  4. Maren says:

    thank you, Katherine. I am honored!

Leave a Reply

